Setting cinder block on crumbling garage floor

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-03-15, 05:25 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Setting cinder block on crumbling garage floor

I'm repairing the front wall of my garage that has openings for two 8' x 7' doors. The back and side walls are all sitting on 8'' cinder blocks, but the 3 front wall sections were set directly on the floor slab, which has caused them to rot.

I plan to repair them by putting cinder blocks on the slab and setting the new wall sections on them. The problem is that the slab where the center section is has crumbled some on top, so it's not flat.

Is it ok (ie not against code) to place the cinder block on the crumbling slab? Is that a bad idea? My plan is to lay a thick bed of mortar to put the cinder block on.

I live in Minnesota, if that makes a difference.

Thanks.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-03-15, 06:35 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA - N.E.Tn
Posts: 45,759
Received 74 Votes on 70 Posts
Welcome to the forums!

You need a decent base to install the block to. If you post a pic or two maybe we can advise what needs to be done to make it block ready. It might be as simple as cleaning it up and smoothing it out with mortar or could be as major as removal and replacement. http://www.doityourself.com/forum/el...your-post.html
 
  #3  
Old 07-03-15, 07:55 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Here are pics of the center section:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/4878hjyhss...49450.jpg?dl=0

https://www.dropbox.com/s/osfou25y70...41529.jpg?dl=0

There was also some spalling on one of the side sections:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/5gralsvglp...52205.jpg?dl=0

This is the mortar mix I bought:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/y0js5lda1i...14618.jpg?dl=0

I couldn't get the images uploaded, so I had to just link to them.
 
  #4  
Old 07-03-15, 09:02 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA - N.E.Tn
Posts: 45,759
Received 74 Votes on 70 Posts
I'd consider cleaning it up the best I could, drill a few holes to poke some rebar in and then form up and pour 3"-4" of concrete to lay your block on - but I'm just a painter, wait and see what the masons say
 
  #5  
Old 07-03-15, 08:31 PM
BridgeMan45's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 3,196
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'm not a mason, but I'll throw in my opinion anyway. I'd get rid of the concrete that's there, going full depth if necessary, and replace with new concrete. It would be a big gamble to place anything you want to be permanent on that deteriorated concrete. Going with all new material, you'll at least have a sound bed for laying concrete block on.
 
  #6  
Old 07-04-15, 09:27 AM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: usa
Posts: 1,333
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
i'm sittin' w/bdge look at it this way, even IF you do as mark post'd, the thinner conc won't support as much weight as when original
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes