Help with retaining wall

Old 08-13-15, 06:41 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Help with retaining wall

Hopefully this is the right place to ask this. We bought our first house a few months ago and have some things to do. My first project is to build a retaining wall but I have never done one before. I already ripped out the old one and dug the trench to put it where I want.

I have read so many websites that I am starting to get confused. This particular wall is going to be concrete block and only 2 feet tall. I was originally going to pour a concrete block as my base but people seem to say that you only need crushed stone as a base.

Also since it is a short wall and I am using mortar with concrete block so I need to step the wall back, lean it, or just build it straight up?

Thoughts?

Sponsored Links
Old 08-13-15, 07:08 PM
Group Moderator
Received 54 Votes on 47 Posts
IMO - Setting a concrete block retaining wall retaining wall is a tough project to make look good, especially for a first timer. * Note: by "concrete block" I am envisioning the type used for building basement walls.

Now, if you are using a "keystone" block, or some other type of landscape block, you would not use mortar. At the very most you would only use landscape block adhesive. Some blocks are only dry stacked.

You should not pour a "pad" for your base, frost will heave it in no time. Follow the manufacture's recommendation on how to lay the landscape block.

Old 08-13-15, 08:03 PM
Yes you are correct that it is just standard cement block. I am not worried about it looking bad because there will be a deck that goes over it and some other covering to hide the stone. I decided to use block because it is by far the cheapest route. The more Web sites I read the more I get confused. Everyone seems to have a different idea in how to do it.

I guess it makes sense though to not use concrete unless I am digging 4 feet down to get below the frost line which I was not planning on doing.