Erosion Under Front Brick Veneer

Old 09-06-15, 10:54 AM
Erosion Under Front Brick Veneer

I need some advice please. I am the maintenance contact for our Condo Association. I am a retired auto technician. I don't know much about masonry, concrete, etc. Below is an example of a problem at many of our Condo units.

I live in Iowa, so we deal with extreme temp changes, snow, etc. As you can see, the brick veneer has a void underneath it. I am going to assume this is from water damage and ground shifting due to deep frost, etc. The cracks in the masonry, I have used some backer rod in the wide gaps, then caulked with a concrete/masonry sealer. It remains flexible in all temps, at least that is what the tube says! I don't know if this was the proper way to do this or not. Also what do I do about the deep void underneath the brick veneer? There is also a good 3/4 inch gap between it and the sidewalk, where I am assuming the water is getting in. There is also the same size or wider gap between the sidewalk and the garage foundation. This goes all the way along side the front steps. Should this be fixed with backer rod and the same caulk? Self-leveling caulk won't work as some of the sidewalks are not level. They slope down towards the street. Any help with these issues sure would be appreciated!

Sponsored Links
Old 09-06-15, 11:06 AM
Group Moderator
Brick should have a corbel ledge block / footing underneath it that is part of the foundation that is below frost. If you poke back in there a few inches and find the brick is not sitting on concrete then you have a pretty big problem. Since I can see the poured concrete form pattern going around the corner it doesn't seem likely that there is a footing there at all. Cement from the sidewalk cannot be the means of support for the brick and it should not go under the bricks anywhere or frost heave will break the bricks and mortar up.

Old 09-06-15, 01:06 PM