Sinking driveway repair

Old 09-05-16, 11:09 PM
P
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sinking driveway repair

[ATTACH]70492

This is my sinking driveway. It has been repaired twice before by the previous owner but it has not lasted because of a problem underneath.
I will now repair this, hopefully for the last time, I will post links to videos of my progress.
I hope this will help someone wanting some information on how to do this kind of repair themselves. I have no experience in flat work but I have read up and have done my best to provide what I wish I had when researching videos on how to do it.
I will start with a sledgehammer, safety glasses and gloves. will try and keep the cost down, but not time, but I will try and be speedy.

Attached Images  
Old 09-06-16, 02:37 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 431 Votes on 385 Posts
Welcome to the forums!
What did the previous owner do to try and correct this? There may be more voids underneath the concrete than just where the concrete is broken

Old 09-06-16, 04:01 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 76 Votes on 69 Posts
You will need to find the cause and fix that also.

Old 09-06-16, 11:40 AM
P
Thanks! I am glad to be here so far, I hope this helps someone else.

The previous owner just broke up the driveway and put some of the more larger chunks underneath after which he just had it redone the same way twice. He does not know exactly why its doing it.

Although he did say that before the property was purchased a shed had been buried there on the land many years before...

Old 09-06-16, 02:14 PM
Received 376 Votes on 341 Posts
The ground was not properly prepared prior to the original pour. If in fact a shed was buried in that location it may be that the rotting is complete and now the ground is settling. It needs to be dug up and removed and then refilled have it properly filled with stone, compacted and let is stand (ideally for a whole season), then re-pour the concrete.

Old 09-08-16, 01:13 PM
P