Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

Planning new paved driveway - need help not getting ripped off


syakoban's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 555
NJ

09-12-17, 03:22 PM   #1 (permalink)  
Planning new paved driveway - need help not getting ripped off

Hi,

Our driveway is now 50 years old and believe it or not, is kaput.

I plan to get quotes to have it replaced so here are some questions:

  1. How do I know that I am getting the depth of gravel promised?
  2. How thick should the gravel be?
  3. I've seen some driveways left in gravel for months before paving and others paved immediately. Why one way or the other?
  4. How thick should the pavement be?
  5. Anything else I should be looking out for or asking about?

Thanks guys!

 
Sponsored Links
Norm201's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 4,935
NY

09-12-17, 03:29 PM   #2 (permalink)  
I will answer #3 for you. Settling! If you are able the live with a gravel drive then letting the gravel and stone settle for a year or two is a good thing. My father-in-law did this with both a concrete drive and a blacktop and never had problems ever.

#2. I think 4" is minimum, but I'm not sure.

If you're getting a blacktop, I suggest a brick curb level with the finish topping. It will preserve the sides for many years.

 
syakoban's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 555
NJ

09-12-17, 04:07 PM   #3 (permalink)  
Thanks, Norm201. Hopefully, I'll get some more answers. FYI - here in Jersey, I've never seen brick driveway curbing, just Belgium block, which is never flush, which we do not want, and which they make the real money on.

 
Marq1's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 1,422
MI

09-12-17, 04:53 PM   #4 (permalink)  
What type, blacktop or cement?

 
syakoban's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 555
NJ

09-12-17, 07:17 PM   #5 (permalink)  
Oops- I thought I said blacktop.

 
mossman's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,887
VA

09-13-17, 07:28 AM   #6 (permalink)  
How do I know that I am getting the depth of gravel promised?
Watch them pour it and measure
How thick should the gravel be?
I believe 4" is the norm
I've seen some driveways left in gravel for months before paving and others paved immediately. Why one way or the other?
If you're replacing an existing driveway, then I don't think you need to worry about settling.
How thick should the pavement be?
I believe 4" is the norm
Anything else I should be looking out for or asking about?
Watch them like a hawk and be sure they do what they say they are going to do. Make sure the contract states the amount of gravel and the amount of asphalt that will be used, and make sure that is what you get.

 
Marq1's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 1,422
MI

09-13-17, 07:52 AM   #7 (permalink)  
Find a good company, there are lots of references out there and you will be ok.

For blacktop 4" is the norm, key is drainage and solid base.

One house was all sand, good drainage but after a couple of years the drive was wavy.

Last two home I contracted, 8" of compacted gravel base, good slope, they were perfect!

 
Msradell's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 563
KY

09-17-17, 04:56 PM   #8 (permalink)  
Also, the best asphalt driveways are laid in 2 layers. 1st a binder course of about 3" is laid his hands larger stones in it and is stronger. Untapped of that a finish layer is laid of approximately 1'. This has finer aggregate and will make it smoother surface less susceptible to water intrusion.

Not all asphalt contractors do it this way but the better ones do.

 
Norm201's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 4,935
NY

09-17-17, 05:11 PM   #9 (permalink)  
msradell is correct. Sometimes just the binder is left for a year or several months then the 1" top coat is applied.

 
Marq1's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 1,422
MI

09-18-17, 09:42 AM   #10 (permalink)  
Not all asphalt contractors do it this way but the better ones do.
I have never seen a two step installation for home drivewasy, might be a regional thing or they are using appropriate for a single application.

 
Search this Thread