Filling in missing mortar ?

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-18-18, 05:44 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 230
Filling in missing mortar ?

Have some mortar missing around the home.
At what depth should I fill spots and what's the beat technique or prep
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-19-18, 04:58 AM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 17,637
You will have to tell us more. That all depends on the condition of the existing mortar, what you are patching and what you need to do to match the current finish.

If you want you can post pictures. Here are instructions.
 
  #3  
Old 07-19-18, 07:19 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 230
Heres some pics







 
  #4  
Old 07-20-18, 03:58 AM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 5,834
That looks excessive. Are any of the bricks loose? I'm not familiar enough with brick work to make a recommendation. If it were me I think I would get a quote or opinion of a professional brick layer.
 

Last edited by Norm201; 07-20-18 at 03:59 AM. Reason: added info
  #5  
Old 07-20-18, 05:18 AM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 17,637
The pictures are tiny but in one photo it almost looks like a zig zag pattern which usually happens with a foundation settling.

For repair I would get a bag of type N mortar mix. The kind that contains sand so all you have to do is add water. Clean out the joints to remove any loose mortar and then blow out any dust. With a hose or brush dipped in water then wet inside the crevise to moisten the existing brick and mortar. Then pack mortar into the joint. Depending on the consistency of your mortar you can strike down the joint soon after filling but if your mortar is too wet you can come back in half an hour after it's firmed a bit.
 
  #6  
Old 07-20-18, 06:34 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 230
I assume it's best to fill it . If I leave it I assume water will penetrate ?
 
  #7  
Old 07-20-18, 09:08 AM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 17,637
Yes, if there is an opening water will find a way in.
 
  #8  
Old 07-21-18, 06:28 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 230
How about those mortor in a tube ?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'