Filling in Concrete planter next to Pool

Old 07-01-19, 06:46 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Filling in Concrete planter next to Pool

Wed like to fill in this 4 by 9 planter/opening that sits between our colored concrete patio and the shell/coping of our pool so that its flush. Im wondering whether I need to leave a gap all the way around the new pour (or at least on the edge butting up to the pool coping) and if so, what material to use for the form. Id also appreciate any recommendations on what product(s) to use to closely approximate the existing patio material/finish. I am pretty sure this is a salt finish (we inherited this when we bought the house). Lastly how deep do you think I need the concrete to be and how serious do I need to get with reinforcing? Apart from a fence post or two I have no experience with concrete. Is this a reasonable project for a hack like me?

Larger photos
Name:  pp1.jpg
Views: 58
Size:  28.4 KB

Name:  pp2.jpg
Views: 62
Size:  40.6 KB

Last edited by PJmax; 07-01-19 at 10:18 PM. Reason: added pics from link
Sponsored Links
Old 07-01-19, 10:27 PM
Group Moderator
Received 419 Votes on 392 Posts
I'm not the pro here but up here I'm in a cold zone so there needs to be an expansion joint between the pour and the pool coping as well as between the pour and the sidewalk. I have a 40+ year old Syvlan pool and back then they were using Homasote board for the expansion joints.

Not sure if you have freezing issues where you are.
What is currently used between the sidewalk and the coping ?

This is a newer version of what I have..... Homasote

Old 07-02-19, 01:32 AM
Received 126 Votes on 117 Posts
First off, whatever you put in there, especially if your trying to match the color is that it wont match so maybe just decide to make it different to start with like installing pavers!

Old 07-02-19, 08:28 PM