Stucco repair texture

Old 07-08-19, 12:59 PM
Stucco repair texture

I have a few places on my exterior stucco walls that need repair. I have patched a few small holes in the past and done a reasonable job with premixed stucco patch. However if I need to repair any larger areas I would like to be better able to match the texture. Can anyone provide an idea about how the texture in the photos was created? One particular question is how the lines (or "striations") were created. The photos are below.

Thank you for any suggestions.

Name:  stucco_1.JPG
Views: 52
Size:  135.5 KB

Name:  stucco_2.JPG
Views: 48
Size:  139.6 KB

Last edited by PJmax; 07-08-19 at 01:48 PM. Reason: added space between pictures
Sponsored Links
Old 07-08-19, 01:09 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Upvotes Received: 72
Welcome to the forums!

I'm a painter not a stucco guy but I've painted a lot of stucco that looks like that and have made a few repairs. They pretty much just trowel it on in a skipping motion. One of the forums's members is a pro plaster guy [tightcoat] hopefully he'll have time to respond with better info for you.

Old 07-11-19, 02:52 PM
It's hard to describe how to do this. I'll try.