Parking in the barn

Old 01-15-21, 07:24 PM
M
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Parking in the barn

Hello I recently bought a home with a huge barn and need advice on the best way to use the barn. The Barn was built in the late 1800's early 1900's. It is post and beam. The cellar has a concrete floor but is not tall enough to drive into. Then there are 3 floors. The first floor is level with the house and road in front but the cellar is on one side and the land in lower going towards the back of the house and barn. So should I strengthen the floor of the fist floor so I can drive into the barn or should I cut the floor and raise the door so I can drive into the cellar? I was thinking building a concrete cinder block wall under the area where I will park my van to support the weight of the van. But I have no idea if this would hold the weight?. Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.
I am a disabled veteran and have done concrete work as well as some mason tender work in the past. I am not a carpenter. More of a mechanic type I guess. Thank you , Mark

Old 01-15-21, 07:46 PM
Group Moderator
Received 3,951 Upvotes on 3,544 Posts
should I strengthen the floor of the first floor so I can drive into the barn or should I cut the floor and raise the door so I can drive into the cellar?
We'd have to guess to answer that question.
I'd imagine driving into the cellar would be ok provided the floor/foundation is thick enough.
Driving into the first floor would require a lot of strengthening.

Some pictures of what you have would be very helpful..... How-to-insert-pictures.

Old 01-15-21, 07:57 PM
Group Moderator
Received 1,910 Upvotes on 1,716 Posts
I'd say it would be easiest excavate the "cellar" deeper on the lower house side, underpin the foundation as needed and pour a new floor. Yes, pictures might help.

marksr voted this post useful.
Old 01-16-21, 04:36 AM
P
Group Moderator
Received 2,153 Upvotes on 1,928 Posts