10x12 Concrete slab pricing for DIY?

Old 03-18-22, 05:35 AM
C
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
10x12 Concrete slab pricing for DIY?

I want to make a 10x12 slab for a shed i'm going to build. But i don't know how much concrete i need for that, nor if i need special concrete with fibre glass or anything like that.

Will i also need rebar for such a small area?

I asked a professional to do it for me, but he charged me $2800. Seems a bit high imo.
If someone could tell me how much the products would cost if i did a DIY, then it would really help since then i would know how much he's charging me for labor.

How much would the concrete cost?
How much would rebar cost if needed?

Thank you very much!

Last edited by cementnoobie; 03-18-22 at 06:01 AM.
Old 03-18-22, 07:35 AM
W
Received 51 Votes on 46 Posts
What will be the thickness of the slab?

cementnoobie voted this post useful.
Old 03-18-22, 07:59 AM
C
I'm not sure what thickness is recommended. I'm new to this.

Old 03-18-22, 08:00 AM
Received 946 Votes on 859 Posts
https://www.concretenetwork.com/conc...calculator.htm

No rebar or fiberglass, maybe some wire mesh. Normal slab would be 4" unless something really heavy like a spa.

$2800 seems like a bargain, flat work is the one job i wont do, it's a back breaker.

Remember the amount of concrete needed has to be hauled home, moved, lifted, mixed, spread, not like throwing a couple bags in the trunk.

Old 03-18-22, 08:17 AM
P
Group Moderator
Received 1,561 Votes on 1,404 Posts