Building a Flagstone Sidewalk

Old 06-26-02, 07:27 PM
RobBobRob
Visiting Guest
Cool Building a Flagstone Sidewalk

I am a beginner is this area, and looking to challenge myself with building a flagstone sidewalk in my front yard from the porch to the street (about 40') and looking for suggestions as to how to build this so that it will withstand the rigors of New England weather.
I am starting from scratch (literally and figuratively), and interested in knowing what the best foundation to be used underneath the flagstone, how best to install the foundation, the types of materials to be used, the best way to create a border for the walkway, the types of materials to be used to set the flagstone on the foundation, and the best way to cut the stone to size.
I will also have to install about two 4" steps in the middle of the walkway.
Any suggestions are welcome! If you are aware of any good "how to" manuals/books/websites, I would also appreciate the titles/addresses of those.
Many thanks!

Sponsored Links
Old 06-27-02, 05:33 AM
pmg
Visiting Guest