Trim on ceiling

Old 01-18-04, 10:50 AM
kld
Visiting Guest
Trim on ceiling

I have a victorian style living room and I would love to do some wood trim/molding on the ceiling. Can I use a brad nailer for this? How do I know where the ceiling studs are? Any tips on accomplishing this? I'm new to installing molding and this will be my first project!

Old 01-18-04, 10:58 AM
Furniture Bldr
Visiting Guest
Well, to find the studs, you can use a "Stud Finder" -same thing for ceiling joists.

Yes, you can use a brad nailer with some poly seam seal caulk behind it. "A Small Bead" Mark your studs and ceiling joists with a pencil. Typically ceiling joists are either 16" on center or 24" on center, based upon age of home and roof trusses. Look up in your attic and measure the distance between them.

Sand, stain, and finish your molding first, then cut it and nail it up. Use a wax stick to fill the holes which can be purchased at www.rockler.com

If you're doing crown, being a first-timer, it can be frustrating because it cant be cut the same way as normal moldings.

Old 01-19-04, 07:50 AM
Tom_J
Visiting Guest
I saw an interesting "workaround" to the crown moulding dilemma using manufactured crown and inside corner blocks.

Decorative, square blocks were positioned at the inside corners of the room and the moulding was butted up to these, negating the complicated angle cuts. The material was designed to be painted which may be problematic if you're set on stained wood, however, I'm not certain that the same effect couldn't be accomplished in wood with some skillful creativity.

Outside corners, unfortunately, still had to be cut the hard way and I don't know that I would, personally, care for the look of both used in the same room, but that's me.

Just another idea to keep your head spinning.

Tom

Old 01-19-04, 09:02 AM
Furniture Bldr
Visiting Guest
Tom,