New to woodworking...

Old 12-13-04, 10:10 AM
Still Learnin
Visiting Guest
New to woodworking...

I am new to woodworking and am getting very interested in starting a project. I want to build kitchen cabinets. But before I embark on this odessy, I would like to get some input from you pros out there on how best to approach this. This will not be a time sensitive project as I am simply upgrading (I hope) , so I'd like to do something special. I'd appreciate any ideas and/or suggestions.

Thanx

Sponsored Links
Old 12-13-04, 10:35 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi Still Learnin,

Welcome to the forum!

Kitchen cabinets are not as easy of a project as they may look like. I know they are just boxes, with face frames attached, but there is a lot to it for somebody that is new to woodworking.

There is the consideration of tools. If you don't have them already, tools can are a major expense. There are a lot of other major things to consider as well.

Knowledge of construction is a major one.
Room to work.
Finishing
Hardware
Moulding
Lighting?
Door construction, or measuring accurately to be ableto order them from somebody.
Drawers
Installation

This is a short list.

When you say you are new to woodworking, I'm assuming that you don't have knowledge of any of these issues. Hopefully, I am wrong.

I would recomend buying some books that have information about this, and doing much research before trying to tackle a project of this magnatude.

I don't have a resource for such books off the top of my head, but I will post some in this thread if I run accross any. You could do an internet search too. I'm sure you'll find something.

Good luck, and post again!

I

Old 12-13-04, 03:45 PM
Kitchen cabinets isn't a project I would recommend to a beginner. Yes, they're "just boxes", but building a square box isn't as easy as it seems. Add in making doors (more "square stuff" ) and you have a recipe for some serious frustration. And I won't even get into staining and finishing.