oil or water based polyurethane?

Old 12-15-04, 07:32 AM
J
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
oil or water based polyurethane?

I have an oak handrail for our stairs and have completed staining it and I am now ready to place a finish on. Forgive my ingnorance, but does anyone have a preference between oil or water based poly and if so, why? Is there a benefit to one or the other? Thanks.
Jeff

Old 12-15-04, 08:35 AM
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
There is ABSOLUTELY no comparison. I am a professional woodworker and have tried just about every waterbase out there. They are definetly not as strong as oil based, however, in low-wear areas and areas away from cleaners or liquor (bartops), they are acceptable. Also, on light or white stains, waterbase does not yellow.

If you are going to use a waterbase I recommend Varathane; it is a floor finish which does not become cloudy and seems to hold up pretty well to abrasion, but not chemicals or liquor -- like all waterbases.

hope this helps

pgtek

Old 12-15-04, 10:11 AM
C
Water-based will not yellow. Therefore the color of the stain remains true. Oil-based will yellow and tint the overall effect of the color.

Many industries: basketball courts, hardwood floor finishers, for example, use water based polyurethane. I have also found that the performance is the same as oil-based polyurethane.

Many prefer the water-based for the lack of annoying fumes at the time of application, low risk of combustion, as well as the shorter drying time. The oil-based product generally reaches full hardness sooner than the water-based. If time is an issue, this may be compelling. For the most part, I would be inclined to believe that either product would perform well on a residential handrail.

If you used an oil-based stain, be sure to allow sufficient time for the stain to fully dry before applying the water-based polyurethane.

Hope this helps.

Old 12-16-04, 07:23 AM