Can I use a Angle grinder for under cutting trim?

Old 03-02-05, 11:55 AM
D
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Red face Can I use a Angle grinder for under cutting trim?

Hi everyone I am new to this forum and my wife and I recently purchased a house in november. We want to put down some bamboo flooring and I was wondering if I could use a angle grinder to undercut the existing trim work in the house. I was wondering if there was a blade attachment that might help me do this. I know that there a special saw I cold buy for this but since I do not do this for a living I was wondering if I could buy a angle grinder and find may by a saw blade for this. I figure that there is more of a chance of me using a angle grinder in my future then that specialty tool. Any advice? I have a lot of trim to undercut so I would rather not do it by hand.

Thanks everyone,
Dharma
in pelham NH

Last edited by dharmalism; 03-02-05 at 11:57 AM. Reason: type o
Old 03-02-05, 12:33 PM
B
Are you saying that you want to cut all the base moulding in the room so that you can fit the new floor under it? The "standard" procedure is to just carefully pull it off and then re-install it over the new flooring. The only thing you should have to cut are possibly the doors and door frame/moulding.

Remove the doors and use a circular saw or handsaw on these and for the door frames, Lowes and HD sell a small saw like a gent's saw that has an offset handle so you can lay it down and saw without tearing your hand up. Just set it on a scrap piece of the new flooring and cut the moulding.

Old 03-02-05, 01:42 PM
The inside corners are going to be a bear to trim. I agree with trimming the door jambs. Then use shoe to cover the gap between the floor and baseboard.

Old 03-02-05, 02:45 PM
Group Moderator
Received 785 Votes on 723 Posts