How to build interior wood shutters

Old 11-10-05, 06:13 PM
dediy72
Visiting Guest
How to build interior wood shutters

Does anyone know of any web site or book that describes how to build interior wood shutters. I have searched and searched, and only come up with information on how to install shutters - I would like to actually make them.

Many thanks.

Sponsored Links
Old 11-14-05, 12:13 PM
A
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Shutters = tedious. You need the right jig and a lot of patience.

New Yankee Workshop did a show on plantation shutters earlier this year. I don't think plans or the video is available yet, but there was a webcam on the show, iirc.

Some plans (never seen them, but found them):

http://www.woodcraftplans.com/cw6002.htm

Old 05-31-08, 11:13 AM
O
Smile Stevie wonder

I noticed there has been a reply W/web site for plans left to you, BUT if you want to try, Without buying plans or louvers! So do I.
By trade I have been a carpenter for more than 20 years starting as a cabinet maker to framing house's and owning a custom door shop for years.
I dont know your skill level or what tools you have to work with but you will need a few items to get started. In the reply given to you a jig is essential and patience is a virtue!
Specially if your project is "stain grade" if your project is a "paint grade" sloppy? can be more forgiving if I may say so.
First you will need at least! for the average joe/jane home owner,
DIYer
1- a pencile
2- tape measure reading at least 1/16th's 1/32 or 1/64th at best.
3- a square- simple speed square or framing square
4- a V.S. Drill
5- miter box "electric preferably" and be sure it cuts square this is the first and most importaint rule you need to know because when your placing your style and rails together for glue joint everything stays flat!!!
6- a table saw " be sure this is cutting square also or @90 degrees
7- a plainer hand or floor mount although this may not be necessary you can build without it!