Walk me through a laminate counter project, please :)

Old 07-23-07, 12:47 PM
S
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Walk me through a laminate counter project, please :)

I'm gearing up to make a laminate counter for my craft room. The counter will be "L" shaped, about 2' deep, and there will be a couple of curves (at the inside corner and at one of the ends).

Rough sketch here:
http://www.thosemartins.com/shared/craftroomplans.jpg

I know that I need 3/4 industrial particle board, doubled up. One sheet halved lengthwise will take care of the longest straight part, then another two sheets for the remaining section. I was going to make the two sections completely separate entities, for ease of constructing and assembling/disassembling, so I don't need to worry about seaming. Where the edges meet, it's in a convenient spot and won't be annoying.

I have all the basic tools - circular saw, jig saw, router (which I've never used before, this will be my first time), etc.

I won't be making a backsplash out of the laminate, so I don't need to worry about that.

I was planning on using the rubber T-molding for the edges.

So...constructing...

I know that I have to glue and screw the two layers of particle board together. What glue should I use for that? And how many screws/how far apart? I know I need to countersink the screws.

For the curvy part...should I glue and screw the two layers together first, then cut the curves in both at once? What would be the cleanest way to cut those curves?

The T-molding, what router bit gets used to make the channel for that? Do I make the channel before or after putting the laminate on top?

The gluing down the laminate part seems pretty straightforward, so I don't think I need help with that - just the particle board part.

TIA!!

Sponsored Links
Old 07-23-07, 03:56 PM
J