Plans for something like this? (Building a desk)

Old 08-20-07, 06:13 AM
G
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Plans for something like this? (Building a desk)

I wan't to make a desk similar to what image im including in this post. I've not been able to find any plans for anything close to this. I'm new to really building furniture. To be honsest I've never done it before. But I want to start and this is the first project I have lined up. Mainly the need for a desk like this is mainly for the desk space with some storaged included. Anyway if anyone can point me in the directions of some sort of plans or maybe even help me with some software that would help me design my own plans that would be great too!

Thanks a lot.

Link to image. http://www.pocketlint.net/index-desk.html

Sponsored Links
Old 08-20-07, 11:17 AM
G
Here is a design I did with Visio. About the best I can come up with but i think it gives a pretty good idea of what im trying to do. I guess tonight im going to figure out the demensions and do all the measurements. Maybe I guess I'm almost ready to get me some wood and start? But maybe some feedback would be helpfull.

Heres a link to what i've done.

http://wazzup.info/images/office2.jpg

Old 08-20-07, 02:35 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 5 Votes on 5 Posts
You've got a great start. Your side wall units will be no wider than 4' according to your drawing, as your chair inset on the 45 degree part will take it down to 21" I assume. You don't want the end of the permanent unit to extend beyond the sliding glass door unit. Just out of curiosity, how are you fixed for cabinet making tools? Table saw, biscuit cutter, router with dado blade, etc. Or will you be doing this by hand with minimal tools. It will help us to know. Good luck with the project!

Old 08-21-07, 07:21 AM
G
Thank you for your reply.

That's not a sliding door on the left side it's a window. I can go under the window so It can go past that point.