...Installing Crown Molding and Chair Rail

Old 08-28-07, 06:01 AM
C
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question ...Installing Crown Molding and Chair Rail

Crown Molding-
I am attempting a project i have never done before. I am installing 5 1/4 inch crown molding and i have a 12in compound miter saw. the room is rectangular and i will be cutting 4 inside approx. 90 degree corners. How do i place the crown molding on the saw as i have heard it can be very tricky. Some people say put it upside down in the miter saw? I am not sure i understand the upside down method. Can someone please provide step by step instructions or provide a good website or instrucitonal video.

Chair Rail
Also, I think I understand how to install the chair rail but when i come to a window or door way that has no casing, how do I cut the end of the chair rail and how do I cut an end cap piece to make it look clean?

Thank you for any input you may have.

Sponsored Links
Old 08-28-07, 09:06 AM
T
There are a number of ways to cut crown molding - but the basic method is flat side down (relatively flat). The angles are not difficult once you get the hang of it - but it takes a few efforts to get the hang of it. I would suggest that your saw instruction manual probably has step by step instructions for cutting crowns..... you can probably find it online if you've lost it since your purchase.... for that matter, any instruction manual for a compound miter saw will probably have the information you need.

Old 08-28-07, 10:24 AM
Group Moderator
Received 582 Votes on 535 Posts
Crown moulding: