Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Interior Improvement Center > Carpentry, Cabinetry and Interior Woodworking
Reload this Page >

brad nailer: 3/4-Inch to 2-Inch Vs 5/8-Inch to 1-1/4-Inch

Old 12-31-07, 05:35 PM
D
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts

Why would i spend more money for the 2 inch nailer? I'm not a pro so I don't need anything real heavy duty. I plan on putting up moulding, trim on cabinets and small wood projects. Is it worth paying extra for the brad nailer that goes up to 2 inch nail?

thanks!

Sponsored Links
Old 12-31-07, 05:52 PM
Super Moderator
Received 35 Votes on 33 Posts
Yes, I am sure you would find a use for the longer nail.

An average molding against 1/2" drywall does not leave much nail left for securely fastening it.

Old 12-31-07, 07:02 PM
S
Group Moderator
Received 94 Votes on 83 Posts
I can't remember how long a nail my brad nailer will shoot, but I just grab the finish nailer if I need longer.

Old 12-31-07, 07:07 PM
Group Moderator
Received 642 Votes on 594 Posts
I own both, but if I could only have one, I'd definately want it to be capable of shooting 2" brads, even if it meant paying a little more.

As mentioned, if anything you intend to install will be nailed through drywall, the 1 1/4" nails won't be long enough. It has nothing to do with being "heavy duty".

Old 12-31-07, 07:24 PM
Super Moderator
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
nailer