Changing Circular Saw Blade - Not!


  #1  
Old 05-31-08, 02:37 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 13
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Changing Circular Saw Blade - Not!

I've used my circular saw for some time and have never changed the blade. Now that I'm finally trying to do it, I can't - for the life of me - get the blade off. I follow the instructions to immobilize the blade - but the bolt just won't come loose!!!

Does anyone have a tip for me?
 
  #2  
Old 05-31-08, 02:46 PM
W
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 6,344
Received 60 Upvotes on 52 Posts
Blade

Different saws have different ways to hold the blade while you loosen the nut. Porter Cable has a push-in locking pin which locks the motor. In the past I have used a screw driver wedged into the teeth of the blade. I have also used pliers to hold the blade. If you try the last two, wear gloves!

What brand is your saw? Does it have a locking pin?
 
  #3  
Old 05-31-08, 02:49 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 19,281
Received 5 Upvotes on 5 Posts
Make sure you are trying to turn the bolt the right way. Is it a left hand thread? If the blade is locked with the blade lock or by putting the screwdriver or allen thru the hole, it should come loose.
 
  #4  
Old 05-31-08, 03:11 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 13
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
It's a Skil Classic Saw. No locking pin. The blade moving is not a problem - turning the bolt is.
 
  #5  
Old 05-31-08, 03:42 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 19,281
Received 5 Upvotes on 5 Posts
Skil classic? The gold housing? With the thumb operated blade guard? Man I love that saw! why don't more have the thumb operated guard?

Well, just checked mine, so its a RH thread. Jeez, don't know what else to suggest. Using the supplied wrench mine came right off. Just tried it to be sure.

Musta been way over tightened when they sent it out.

All I can suggest is put a screwdriver or allen so it traps the blade from moving and use a 6 point socket on the bolt.
 
  #6  
Old 06-01-08, 04:24 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 36,608
Upvotes: 0
Received 9 Upvotes on 8 Posts
Clamp a vice grip on the blade very tightly, or place the blade in a sturdy vice and use it as a fulcrum. Use a 6 pointed socket on the bolt, that is if you haven't already boogered it up too much.
 
  #7  
Old 06-03-08, 12:44 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 13
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
yep - gold housing and saw. i love(d) it too - but had to replace it. it just wouldn't budge. thanks to all for trying.
 
  #8  
Old 06-03-08, 02:33 PM
C
Member
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,244
Received 270 Upvotes on 221 Posts
You replaced the saw because of a seized bolt? I think I would have drilled it out first. OTOH probably as good an excuse as any to buy a new tool.
I've never seen a blade bolt that couldn't be loosened. Did you try a little mechanical advantage like a wrench extension?
 
  #9  
Old 06-03-08, 02:43 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 19,281
Received 5 Upvotes on 5 Posts
msk...hope you come back to the thread. Don't throw it away!! I don't think they even have some parts for it anymore. I'd take it off yer hands if you'd ship it.
 
  #10  
Old 06-04-08, 04:53 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Wilmington
Posts: 3,994
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Not sure if you missed the above statement, it is a left hand thread, turn CW to remove. Not righty tighty, these are righty, loosy.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: