Type of finish nailer for MDF crown?

Old 06-23-09, 08:22 PM
G
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Type of finish nailer for MDF crown?

I wasn't sure where to post this but I wanted to get some opinions on what type finish nailer I should use on MDF crown molding.

I have been looking for a combo kit but can't find anything that has a 16 gauge ANGLED finish nailer. Any recommendations?

If I had to choose, what should I get, a 15 gauge angled nailer or a 16 gauge straight nailer? I found a Porter Cable combo unit at Home Depot with a 16 gauge STRAIGHT nailer but I thought the angled ones would be better. It just seems hard to find 16 gauge angled finish nailers, except for the Paslode T250A which is a little too pricey for me.

From what I read the 16 gauge is better but can't seem to find any in combo kits or one that's not very expensive as I'm only starting out.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions....

Sponsored Links
Old 06-24-09, 04:56 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 319 Votes on 283 Posts
Welcome to the forums!

16 gauge is always straight and 15 gauge is angled. There isn't a big difference between the 2 although an angled nailer will get closer to the inside corners.

Old 06-24-09, 07:17 AM
C
I use a Senco FinishPro 25 for that type of work and it shoots an 18 gauge nail. Depending on the profile of the crown and exactly where on that piece you need to nail, a 16 gauge nail could blow your crown apart.

Good luck!

Old 06-24-09, 09:00 AM
G
So if a 16g finish nailer would possibly split the MDF crown, a 15g would be even more of a gamble then, right?

So I guess I should stick with a 16g straight finish nailer for this crown?

Old 06-24-09, 01:33 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 319 Votes on 283 Posts