Router Plans

Old 07-10-00, 11:07 AM
Visiting Guest
Smile

Greetings all. I am new to woodworking (just developed an interest in the last couple of weeks by watching The Router Workshop) and was wondering if anyone knows of some beginning plans that only use a router. This is the only woodworking tool I have at the moment (just a cheap Skil plunge router) and after seeing how much the bits cost it will be a while before I can get any others. I hope I can learn a bit from all of you experts.

Old 07-10-00, 11:21 PM
Visiting Guest
Cool

Carbide,
Welcome to the wonderful world of woodworking! While a router, as you have seen, is an indespensible tool, making a project with it alone would be like playing golf with only one club. It could be done but you will soon find yourself in need of a saw of some kind to open up a world of possibilities. Projects that are made of a single, flat piece of wood would be a good place to start. Items for decorating a home come to mind, like plaques and such, so look through some catalogs to find something flat that catches your eye, and think through the processes it would take to make it. There are many possibilities if you have a jigsaw to cut out shapes and then use your router to put a moulded edge on them. If you are truly hooked, you will soon find that you are going to want a "whole bag full of clubs" which would include a saw or saws, sander, a selection of router bits, a drill with bits, etc. It is a rare day in my shop that I don't fire up a router for something, and with a creative approach, you will find the possibilities are endless. Have fun and please post again as you explore you new-found interest!
Respectfully,
The Timber Tailor

Old 07-12-00, 09:10 PM
Visiting Guest