placing wood on floor

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-23-09, 09:19 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 101
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
placing wood on floor

Hello;

I am building, (for lack of a better term) ,a 'stage'in my basement, 8 feet by 8 feet and 1 foot high. I am using enginnerred TJI joists with 5/8 inch plywood ontop.

The joist will sit directly on the floor...now here is my question.

The basement is a cement floor covered with carpet, (no subfloor). I have been told that, If I put the wood directly on the carpet...the wood will 'wick' moisture from the cement floor (through the foam underlay and carpet fibers).

They are telling me I have to rip up the carpet and put a vapor barrier down..with some sort of underlay...to prevent this.

Is this true,or are they just trying to sell me roll of tyvek underlay??
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-23-09, 09:52 AM
P
Temporarily Suspended
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 10,986
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It's not a bad idea to remove the carpet under any circumstances, in that section. I would do it & maybe even use pressure treated wood for the joists.
 
  #3  
Old 11-23-09, 03:59 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
Mach7, is there a reason you are spending so much money on TJI when dimension lumber will suffice? You have no span requirements. Just curious. And I would go with T&G Advantech at 3/4" unless there is a reason for the 5/8". Advantech won't leave any voids at the joints.
 
  #4  
Old 11-23-09, 04:00 PM
W
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 3,188
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Will thestagfe e a permanent structure in the basement? If it is I would remove the carpet and isolate the I joists with plastic. If it won't be there long term, I would probably just build it on the carpet.
 
  #5  
Old 11-23-09, 07:33 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 101
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You wrote:

Mach7, is there a reason you are spending so much money on TJI when dimension lumber will suffice? You have no span requirements. Just curious. And I would go with T&G Advantech at 3/4" unless there is a reason for the 5/8". Advantech won't leave any voids at the joints

Very good point. I actually was looking at 2 x 12's but found that the product that we get up here in Nova Scotia is very below average. I wanted something that was more 'accurate' with respect to being straight and true.

I am running 5 silent 8 foot long floor joists across with rim boards all around. Placing a sheet of plywood overtop.

FYI, the floor joist were less expensive than the 2 x 12's, not to mention lighter in weight.
 
  #6  
Old 11-23-09, 07:36 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 101
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hello wayne. The structure will be permanent, so i think I will take all of your advice and rip up the carpet and place the floor joists right on the concrete floor. Next question:

Can you give me some options on the type of underlay I should place between the wood and cement?
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: