Getting started in Carpentry

Old 11-29-09, 05:38 PM
V
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Getting started in Carpentry

I wasnt really able to find any posts on this so I thought I'd throw it out there. I'm looking to try and change careers and want to start in the Carpentry/Building field. Ive been too long working in offices and its not for me. The problem is thats where all my experience is. I've been around carpentry before, know the very basics, and have helped on random projects with the family (my father renovates houses for a living. Think flip this house). I don't know where to start to get into the field. I have bills to pay so unfortunatly I can't really risk too much of a pay cut with going back to school and finding a job right now is hard, especially in a field where I have very little experience. "Helped the In-laws install a door" doesn't really cut it on a resume. I was hoping to find some advice on how to build experience and knowledge and maybe find a way to break into this field. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Sponsored Links
Old 11-29-09, 06:09 PM
Group Moderator
Received 679 Votes on 628 Posts
As an initial suggestion, go to your local lumberyard. As them if they know of any experienced carpenters out there who could use a hand. In some cases, your smaller local lumberyards have business relationships with some of the carpenters in the area. They sell the lumber and millwork, and often get leads for the carpenters. So there's often a good relationship there where one tries to help the other. They may even have a few employees who work for them as installers, doing simple things like floor coverings, windows & doors, siding, kitchen and bath remodels and such.