Filling holes in stud

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-08-10, 09:22 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: nassau county ny
Posts: 193
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Filling holes in stud

What is the best way to fill in several lag bolt holes in a stud in my bedroom? The holes are 7/32"x3" deep from an old wall mount bracket. I can reuse one of the holes for the new LCD TV I'm hanging. I was going to try and glue in some dowel pieces, spackle and sand is this the way to go and do they sell dowels around this size? Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-08-10, 03:12 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA - N.E.Tn
Posts: 47,649
Received 319 Votes on 283 Posts
Will the bolt be secure enough if you reuse that hole as is? If you aren't going to reuse the hole [or next to it] a couple of coats of joint compound is all that would be needed........ or am I misunderstanding the question??
 
  #3  
Old 04-01-10, 01:16 PM
N
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I too mounted my flat screen to the wall and I worry about removing it some day. Hum...May I should use 3/4 inch ply under the drywall on my basement that I am finishing.
 
  #4  
Old 04-01-10, 02:34 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA - N.E.Tn
Posts: 47,649
Received 319 Votes on 283 Posts
IMO it's always a good idea to install a 2x or whatever type wood is appropriate in the framing to accommodate heavy loads like a TV mount or cabinet.
 
  #5  
Old 04-01-10, 02:44 PM
M
Member
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: KC
Posts: 80
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It sounds as if the walls are open and the studs are exposed? ???

If so, instead of trying to "fill" the hole, why not just add additional stud(s) wherever you want them. less than $3.00 per and a lot faster. Hope that helps
 
  #6  
Old 04-01-10, 02:50 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA - N.E.Tn
Posts: 47,649
Received 319 Votes on 283 Posts
Ya, a 2x is my preference although I'd probably go with a 2x6 [wider if needed] and install it flat- in between 2 studs at the needed height, that makes it easier to find some 'meat' to sink the screw into.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: