First ever woodworking project

Old 07-26-10, 08:31 AM
D
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
First ever woodworking project

Hi All... My wife and I just bought our first home and it has a nice master walk-in closet. I'd like to build something like this and this, but I have no prior experience with woodworking, just an interest in learning. Is this something that a beginner could handle? From what I've read it would require me to learn some basics (measuring, cutting, joining) but doesn't sound super-advanced. Also, if my wife knew she was getting a custom closet built, she'd have no problem with me buying all the basic woodworking tools that I'll need, because I don't have any .

FYI, I handle routine fix-it tasks around the house and have a basic understanding and collection of tools (again, first time homeowner, so not a lot of equipment/experience), but I'm a quick learner and comfortable using basic tools.

What is your opinion on a project making built-in shelves as a first foray into woodworking?

Old 07-26-10, 08:49 AM
S
Group Moderator
Received 1,263 Upvotes on 1,204 Posts
I say go for it

You're probably going to do something and decide months or years from now you wish you'd done differently but that will be due to the experience you have then - you have to start somewhere

Old 07-26-10, 09:25 AM
Group Moderator
Received 249 Upvotes on 201 Posts
I second going for it. As a starting point I would do a lot of reading on the subject of woodworking in general and built-ins in particular before you cut the first board. I'm thinking you are going to need a table saw and router at least and a miter saw would be nice for cutting the trim pieces.

Old 07-26-10, 09:40 AM
D
I figure also if after doing a bunch of reading & research if I feel like I'd be more comfortable starting with something a little less complex, I could always scale the project back to something more like this.

Originally Posted by dsarver
...build something like this and this...