Cutting granite countertop in place


  #1  
Old 02-12-12, 10:38 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 153
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Cutting granite countertop in place

Hi, I got a new cook-top (the previous owners had a "regular" stove) that is slightly larger than the opening there was before; in fact I would need to cut out about three inches at each side to fit the new cook-top:





I can think of two options:
  1. remove the countertops and use my friend's water jet cut
  2. dry-cut the granite in place

I have never seen granite be 'dry' cut and I am still wondering if it is possible at all.

Comments or other possible ideas? Of course I was planning to buy two stripes of granite to position in front and on the back of the cook-top, mounted above a 2x4 to give structural strength

Thank you
 
  #2  
Old 02-13-12, 04:12 AM
D
Member
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 4,344
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Granite is dry cut all the time. I have never cut granite myself, so I can't offer any tips or tricks. It's very noisy and extremely dusty.

Dig around on youtube.com. I found this: How to Cut & Polish Granite Countertop DIY - Undermount Sink - YouTube
 
  #3  
Old 02-14-12, 03:07 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Wilmington
Posts: 3,994
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
What he said with emphasis on DUSTY. A diamond cutter on a 4" grinder will do the job nicely, if you have a steady hand. If it gets out of control...........bad news.

Don't leave ragged square corners, they can develope into cracks. Smooth those corenrs.
 
  #4  
Old 02-14-12, 03:33 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 153
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks! Yes I've seen very dusty stuff on videos over the Internet. But also that most people cut it wet...
 
  #5  
Old 02-18-12, 11:53 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 153
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
And what about a jigsaw with a diamond blade? It may take much more time compared to a grinder but I feel like it's going to be easier for me, and it should make much less dust... what do you think?
 
  #6  
Old 02-18-12, 12:44 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 19,281
Received 8 Upvotes on 8 Posts
Can't answer the jig saw question...but I doubt it would work IMO. They work ok on tile and such...but that top is pretty thick.

What about the cabinets themselves? From the picture it looks like the cooktop might interfere with the drawers....
 
  #7  
Old 02-18-12, 01:12 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 153
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Well the section I need to call is "only" 3/4 of an inch thick.

I checked the cabinets and no, even if I will have to cut the side a little, there won't be any interference with the drawers.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: