how to restore teak veneer table

Old 09-15-12, 10:35 PM
J
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
how to restore teak veneer table

I've just got a great deal on a 40 year old teak dining set but it has definitely seen better days. There's some pretty serious wear that I want to get rid of, but I'm a novice when it comes to wood restoration. There are two pretty bad black rings and several white water rings on the veneer table top as well as some just some general blushing and discoloration. The extendable leaves on either side look great. I've been reading that I need to use caution when sanding teak veneer, but I'm afraid that simply oiling the table top will not clear the damage. I'm feeling kind of nervous about doing what is right for this particular table. What is recommended to bring this table back to it's former glory?

Old 09-16-12, 08:49 AM
S
Group Moderator
Received 1,263 Upvotes on 1,204 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

The problem with veneer is it's really thin and therefore easy to sand completely through. I would start by trying to bleach out the stains with oxalic acid.

Old 09-17-12, 04:12 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 835 Upvotes on 732 Posts
..... and limit the sanding to 180 or 220 grit sandpaper. I don't think I've ever worked with teak but veneers in general are thin and once you go thru the veneer

Old 09-17-12, 04:58 PM
D
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post