Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Interior Improvement Center > Carpentry, Cabinetry and Interior Woodworking
Reload this Page >

Wanting to repaint kitchen cabinet, but not sure how to show grain

Old 11-08-14, 01:00 AM
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts

Hi DIY'ers

a newbie here to the forum, so hoping you can give me some help.

I promised my fiance's parents I would help them redo their kitchen cabinets as I have stained a few things in the past (amateurish experience), but enjoy it.

Problem is after I took off one of their cabinets, I realized this isn't a stain job, but a paint job!

Their cabinets were peeling, so this is definitely not a stain job.

The thing is, even though it is painted, I can see the natural wood grain underneath the paint. Where the cabinet is exposed shows the wood grain, and continues on underneath the area that is painted.

Is this even paint, and if so, what is the procedures to paint the cabinets again to look new? Would this be a water based paint?

Knowing I am hooped, I brought the cabinet door to good ol' HD.
The guy sold me some Behr alkyd semi gloss enamel paint telling me all I had to do was prep the door (clean and sand it down), and just paint over it, and because the colour is so light, the wood grain will show through underneath the paint.

The wood is lighter than the paint (beige creamy white), but it might be hard to tell from the pictures I have attached.

Can someone give me advice if this is even paint and if so, how am I to proceed?

Thanks in advance

Name:  IMG_4192.jpg
Views: 244
Size:  13.8 KB
Name:  IMG_4193.jpg
Views: 243
Size:  18.1 KB

Old 11-08-14, 04:34 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 835 Upvotes on 732 Posts
Welcome to the forums!