Can you rip small increments with a router?

Old 05-22-16, 04:52 PM
A
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Can you rip small increments with a router?

Lets say I have a piece that's 5-1/4 by 24 feet long, but I need it to be exactly 5 x 24. I don't have a table saw. I do have a jigsaw and I know I can clamp up the piece and work diligently with it, but I'm wondering about the potential of the router table? I'm a newbie and I dove right in and got myself a router and table and of course I haven't mastered it and don't know all of its full potential yet. I do already have a set of bits and a few of them are straight bits. Logically, I think that's the one to use, but I've only seen tutorials where they're used for grooves and dados. Just want to ask you guys if there is any reason I shouldn't use it on the edge of such a long piece?

Old 05-22-16, 05:07 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts
You won't be using a router table for a 24' long board, so that's out. If you are only taking 1/4" off why not use a circular saw and a rip guide?

Old 05-22-16, 05:18 PM
C
Received 239 Likes on 197 Posts
A 24' board is a bit unusual but yes you can trim it to 5" on a router table if your table has a fence or if you can clamp a straight edge as a fence. However, that's a pretty clumsy way of doing it. If you have a circular saw with a rip guide it would be a lot easier.

Old 05-22-16, 05:43 PM
A
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Goodness, does it change your guys' opinions if I said it was 24 inches? Don't know why I said feet. LOL! The board is 2 feet by 5.25 inches. I need to shave off .25 inches.

Old 05-22-16, 06:11 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
You can trim with the router in the table. In situations like yours though, I prefer to hold the router and use a straightedge.
I like the bits like below for trimming solid wood or plywood.

Name:  topbearbit.JPG
Views: 94
Size:  11.1 KB

Old 05-23-16, 05:37 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 76 Likes on 69 Posts