Custom desk design and fabrication advice needed

Old 08-06-16, 05:24 PM
J
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Custom desk design and fabrication advice needed

Hello All!

My wife and I are about to become homeowners. We're looking for a custom office solution without the need to dedicate an entire room to being said office. We're considering using the far wall of our "loft" space to create a long, narrow multi-person desk with some limited filing space and possible some wall shelving. The available depth is 12" and the length is 12'. I've attached photos of the wall and loft, as well as some photos of [I]similar[I] wall unit concepts.

I would be building this custom in the garage and then assembling after the fact. I'm open to any and all suggestions. I'm a woodworking novice, but excited to tackle a creative project. Thank you in advance for any insight or advice!!!

Cheers,Name:  IMG_0969.jpg
Views: 464
Size:  9.8 KBName:  IMG_0970.jpg
Views: 511
Size:  14.1 KBName:  765843058936297_20.jpg
Views: 520
Size:  32.1 KBName:  b281984f00b4.jpg
Views: 576
Size:  32.1 KBName:  kids-room-home-office-design-with-modern-white-wooden-floating-cabinets-and-floating-table-for-t.jpg
Views: 2228
Size:  27.7 KBName:  926b83b30d16e809a54905767b8e0ae4.jpg
Views: 449
Size:  22.1 KBName:  8436ac0c0a32e74160d81504e70959af.jpg
Views: 916
Size:  12.5 KB

- John

Old 08-06-16, 05:39 PM
C
Received 169 Upvotes on 137 Posts
Unless you are really gung ho about building this custom, and willing to accumulate and learn to use the necessary tools, I'd consider using a couple of stock lateral filing cabinets for the bases and then buy or build a formica counter top for the desk surface. Simple enough to add matching wall cabinets. Any kitchen cabinet manufacturer offers office cabinets, including file cabinets.