I'm a novice with an odd problem

Old 12-16-20, 06:56 PM
S
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'm a novice with an odd problem

Hi! I'm trying to screw a piece of aluminum to a section of plywood, and I want to make the aluminum perfectly flat against the plywood. However, no matter how careful I am to smooth the aluminum, by the time I get to the final screws there are several portions of the aluminum that are annoyingly separated from the wood. When I did this on the second piece of plywood, I was even more meticulous in affixing the aluminum but I got the same result. There's always a bulge, or, really, several bulges. Tomorrow I have to affix aluminum to three more pieces of plywood. Any tips on how I can do it so that the aluminum is perfectly flat against the plywood in all places with no unsightly bulges?

Old 12-16-20, 07:06 PM
Group Moderator
Received 1,324 Votes on 1,224 Posts
The holes in the aluminum need to be bigger then the screws you use to install the aluminum to the plywood. In other words..... the screws should not thread into the aluminum..... only the plywood.

Old 12-16-20, 07:21 PM
S
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for replying Pjmax.

After drilling the holes, I tested the adequacy of the size by putting a screw in-- and it went through the hole without a problem. But if, in your considered opinion, that's the only possible reason for the poor results I got, then tomorrow I'll drill the holes with a larger drill bit. If that works, I thank you profusely in advance for the suggestion. If it doesn't, I thank you in advance for your efforts on my behalf (even if not quite as profusely!

Old 12-16-20, 07:24 PM
Group Moderator
Received 1,324 Votes on 1,224 Posts
You could post a picture to clarify what you are seeing but it sounds like the screws are binding on the aluminum.

How-to-insert-pictures.

Old 12-17-20, 05:51 AM
Received 289 Votes on 259 Posts