consultant to consultant racial comments

Old 11-26-09, 05:49 PM
consultant to consultant racial comments

I was a consultant at a company for the past several years.
About a year ago I got moved into a different department where there was another consultant who made a habit of making mean spirited racial remarks towards Asians.
Apparantly none of the other Asian employees (not consultants) ever said anything to him about this. When I got moved down there I addressed him on more than one occassion about his behavior, nothing changed.
I believe he got wind that I was about to file a formal complaint in which time he conspired with the floor manager (of a similar mindset) to have me relieved of duty before I could file my complaint. I cannot prove any of this.
The day I was let go, I submitted my complaint to the CEO recommending a memo be sent advising people on what is and what is not appropriate conduct. I wasn't thinking suit but instead just wanted to leave a more tolerable working environment for the others. The CEO acknowledged the behavior was not condoned and would look into it. Nearly 6 months have passed and no such memo has been sent.
This got me thinking that maybe I wasn't taken seriously and maybe I should at least inquire about my legal options. I didn't think in these terms before since:
a) neither the offender nor myself were employed by the firm
b) I have no documentation, only a few witnesses

any advice other than just suck it up?

Sponsored Links
Old 11-27-09, 05:22 AM
Group Moderator