no compete clause in layoff paperwork (california)

Old 08-13-14, 02:58 PM
no compete clause in layoff paperwork (california)

Hoping someone here still browses this forum that is familiar with Labor law. I got layed off from my Job last week of 2 years. I'm located in California. They offered me a 2 week severance check to sign their packet of paperwork. In this paperwork, most concerning to me was a no compete clause. Essentially it said I can't get a job in this field minor or major for a year. I contacted legal and they reduced it to 6 months. I then found out that it looks like no compete clauses in California are illegal, period. I told them to remove it completely and they wouldn't (they're based outta state, but I was a California field tech). Strangely in the last paragraph it states that it's written to the laws of Michigan state.

I want to sign this document because I need the 2 weeks. Pay. I do NOT want to get shut of my industry for 6 months. However, since no complete is illegal in California, can I sign this and be ok? Worthy of mentioning, I've already located another job (though it's contracting, and may not be permanent)...and they didn't ask about any no compete clauses.

Any input

THX!

Sponsored Links
Old 08-13-14, 03:09 PM
You really need the advice of an attorney versed in California labor law. Often an attorney will offer a free or low-cost consultation of maybe ten or fifteen minutes. I would check your local area for such.

Old 08-13-14, 05:10 PM
Someone at the state level should be able to advise you on CA law. One, you want to determine what the requirements are for laying someone off. Are they obligated to pay the 2 weeks severance or is that just their own incentive to get you to sign off.

Was this a large lay-off or just you or a few?

Bud

Old 08-13-14, 06:24 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation