Blocking out pet urine smell from subfloor

Old 06-02-19, 12:43 AM
B
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Blocking out pet urine smell from subfloor

Hi all, I'm new to this forum so pardon my ignorance. I am very new at DIY repairs. A while ago one of the rooms in our home started smelling odd. This room is rarely used. However the previous owner did have a pet. The room always smelled a bit odd after we moved in but we didn't care much about it because it wasn't used a whole lot. The smell did seem to get progressively worse. I am not sure if pet urine smells can suddenly get worse. Anyway, I suspect either pet urine or a dead animal in the wall. So I took the carpet off and sure enough there were a few stains on the carpet. However I think the smell has gotten into the subfloor because even after removing the carpet and the padding the smell still is around. I hoped it would've reduced at the very least.

I intend to use "Nature's Miracle Advanced Stain and Odor Eliminator" and then simply use an Odor Killing primer to block the smell out before installing a new carpet. Does this seem like a good idea?

After taking off the carpet I see the subfloor has a lot of dried up paint. Should be cleaning that off before applying the primer? I've attached an image for reference.

Attached Images  
Old 06-02-19, 02:16 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 832 Upvotes on 729 Posts
Welcome to the forums!

I don't know about the odor eliminator product but Zinnser's BIN does an excellent job of blocking/sealing stains and odors. It does need to be applied liberally. While it wouldn't hurt to remove any paint on the floor that comes up easily - that paint won't affect the application of BIN.

Old 06-02-19, 10:25 AM
B
Thanks I was planning to use this product: https://www.rustoleum.com/product-ca...killing-primer How does it compare to the one you suggested?

Old 06-02-19, 01:42 PM
P
Group Moderator
Received 2,144 Upvotes on 1,920 Posts