wiring and caller ID


  #1  
Old 07-03-03, 10:02 PM
hal k's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: TX
Posts: 42
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
wiring and caller ID

need some opinons. I had a second line installed with the caller ID feature. I have a cable that runs from the tel. co. d-marc on the side of the house to a 66 block in the attic. From there the house was prewired out to each room.
I hook up a phone to the new line & get no caller ID but I do get dialtone & calls. The phone LCD reads out as "line error" or "no data sent". I use the phone on my primary line and can receive caller ID fine, so I know it's not the phone. I take the phone outside & plug into the NIB and walla! I have caller ID. The problem obviously has to be in the cabling but I would think if I have a working pair I would have caller ID also.
Should I check for excessive resistance? The volume on the line seems low, even if I crank up the phone volume to MAX. Should I just try another pair?

thanks in advance,
Hal
 
  #2  
Old 07-04-03, 02:50 PM
S
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 2,691
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
This is a common problem with adding too many extensions and too many devices on 1 line (I've seen this happen after installing a security system in a house.) I forget exactly what does this (resistance, capacitance?), but basically what it boils down to is that the Caller ID signal is not getting through (I know it's sent between rings 1 and 2 - at least, that's what I was told by Tech Support when I called about it - how that helps, I have no clue.)

Now, all that to say, I'm not sure of an exact solution, other than removing devices from the line and getting a more "direct" line to the phone. There may be a device out there that will amplify the line some to help, but if there is, I don't know what it's called or where to look for it.

I think I would start by calling the phone company to see if they have a solution (or maybe they could even increase the signal to your house?)

Good luck!
 
  #3  
Old 07-07-03, 07:45 PM
hal k's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: TX
Posts: 42
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I don't have an extension on that line, that's one of the things that puzzles me. I think I will try a new pair on the inside wiring first.
 
  #4  
Old 07-09-03, 01:49 AM
Teran
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
I don't see why it would cause a problem with caller ID, but you could be wired with reverse polarity on that line's interior wiring.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: