wiring and caller ID

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-03-03, 10:02 PM
hal k's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: TX
Posts: 42
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
wiring and caller ID

need some opinons. I had a second line installed with the caller ID feature. I have a cable that runs from the tel. co. d-marc on the side of the house to a 66 block in the attic. From there the house was prewired out to each room.
I hook up a phone to the new line & get no caller ID but I do get dialtone & calls. The phone LCD reads out as "line error" or "no data sent". I use the phone on my primary line and can receive caller ID fine, so I know it's not the phone. I take the phone outside & plug into the NIB and walla! I have caller ID. The problem obviously has to be in the cabling but I would think if I have a working pair I would have caller ID also.
Should I check for excessive resistance? The volume on the line seems low, even if I crank up the phone volume to MAX. Should I just try another pair?

thanks in advance,
Hal
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-04-03, 02:50 PM
S
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 2,691
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
This is a common problem with adding too many extensions and too many devices on 1 line (I've seen this happen after installing a security system in a house.) I forget exactly what does this (resistance, capacitance?), but basically what it boils down to is that the Caller ID signal is not getting through (I know it's sent between rings 1 and 2 - at least, that's what I was told by Tech Support when I called about it - how that helps, I have no clue.)

Now, all that to say, I'm not sure of an exact solution, other than removing devices from the line and getting a more "direct" line to the phone. There may be a device out there that will amplify the line some to help, but if there is, I don't know what it's called or where to look for it.

I think I would start by calling the phone company to see if they have a solution (or maybe they could even increase the signal to your house?)

Good luck!
 
  #3  
Old 07-07-03, 07:45 PM
hal k's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: TX
Posts: 42
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I don't have an extension on that line, that's one of the things that puzzles me. I think I will try a new pair on the inside wiring first.
 
  #4  
Old 07-09-03, 01:49 AM
Teran
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
I don't see why it would cause a problem with caller ID, but you could be wired with reverse polarity on that line's interior wiring.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: