splicing into exisiting wires


  #1  
Old 10-12-03, 07:19 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 197
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
splicing into exisiting wires

Hello,


I have enclosed a back patio and would like to run a phone line for computer purposes. I have the CAT5 cable through the wall outlet in the pation with about 50 feet left in the attic. I was wondering if there is a way to, "tie in", to existing phone lines up in the attic with this CAT5 cable. The existing phone lines in the attic are not CAT5, but instead are conventional phone lines.


Thanks,
Joey
 
  #2  
Old 10-12-03, 08:21 PM
C
Member
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Taylors, SC
Posts: 9,483
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Plain old telephone is easily daisy chained from the back of one connection to the next. Pick a pair of wires in the Cat5 and put them under the screws on the appropriate telephone jack and you should be ready to connect at the other end.

Hope this helps.
 
  #3  
Old 10-15-03, 08:22 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,254
Received 114 Votes on 99 Posts
You would be much better off to run the new wire to your network interface. That way you won't be dependant on the old wiring.

Older wiring does not have the twisted pairs to eliminate static and cross talk.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: