cable network providers

Old 11-19-03, 01:35 PM
josh1
Visiting Guest
cable network providers

think comcast etc. big cable networks.

bear with me,

is it possible for a standard cable modem to connect to a network outside of your cable provider? say I have citizens cable, can I have a cable modem connected to the citizens cable coax line, connect to a 3rd party network and upload/ download files over the citizens cable signal without having citizens internet over cable?

any special equipment necessary to do this? I read about new splitters needed. would It work or would it be necessary for cable service provider to allow this sort of 3rd party network formation over their lines?

im not knowledgable about how cable providers systems work so any detail is great. Just have an idea but not sure its do-able. im also no network expert but basically Im thinking like this,

my 56k modem can dial any number, and assuming the answer is a private network that will establish a connection, i can form a data connection, to upload/download files from the private network, without having/using an ISP, just the physical phone line, I want to do the same deal with cable. Unfortunately I dont yet have cable modem so not familiar with them so much.

Thanks for help-Josh

Sponsored Links
Old 11-19-03, 01:58 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
is it possible for a standard cable modem to connect to a network outside of your cable provider
That would be anything reachable through the internet. When you connect to anything on the internet, you are always connected to another system.

citizens cable signal without having citizens internet over cable?
You would need a connection to the internet, so you would have to have some service on the line. Without citizen providing the connection to the internet, you have just some wire.

Without an ISP, you would not have a connection to the internet. ISP = internet service provider.