J-boxing a phone line


  #1  
Old 12-01-03, 07:40 AM
EricT
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
J-boxing a phone line

Hi All-

Quick question- I have a run of phone wire that runs right by a room I want to add a phone jack to. The run is long, from the demarc point outside to a room downstairs. I was wondering if I could apply a little electronics knowledge here, and cut the wire in 2, then bind that wiring to a third cable that will make about a 10 foot run to where I wanna punch it into the wall. Make sense?

Never seen it done/heard of it done this way before... just wondering if the wire is going to be too sensitive to pull this off. If I cant do it this way, I have to daisy chain off of an existing line, which isnt a terribly bad thing, but alot more labor and more cable to run.

Thanks in advance,

Eric
 
  #2  
Old 12-01-03, 08:45 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,970
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
the answer to your question is yes, you can do this.

However, it is not what I would do.

My first choice would be to run a new wire from the main connection.

My second choice would be to run a new wire from the new location to either the main connection or to the existing room (whichever is easier or shorter), and then to patch the exisyting wire into the new location. Essentially I am saying to make a solid run from the main connection to the new location and then a solid run to the existing location.

The less breaks in the wires the better.
 
  #3  
Old 12-01-03, 09:30 AM
EricT
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
more phone jack questions

Thanks for the rapid response, Racraft!

The termination box is outside and quite a ways away from where I want to terminate inside, so I am going with option B, tie in to an existing jack.

I have one good candidate, in my garage, I just popped the cover plate and it urns out there are already 3 seperate cables mated there (2 lines plus the main feed). Is it bad to jump on one more line there?

I hope not, in that if so, it looks like a real easy job. And I need more real easy jobs around here, let me tell ya...

Thanks again

Eric
 
  #4  
Old 12-01-03, 01:17 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,970
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Eric, it sounds like your garage is already being used as a main connect.

You would not be hurting anything to tie in here. just make sure that you use good quality phone wire, or better. Do not use plain twisted pair or simple individual wires. At some point you may even want to change the line from the main connection point to this junction to be better quality wire.
 
  #5  
Old 12-01-03, 01:29 PM
EricT
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanks RA_

I am using Cat5E to tie in. Best stuff I could get.

Not going to replace in wall cabling unless I absolutely have to, that is an ugly job.

Again thanks for the advice.

Eric
 
  #6  
Old 12-01-03, 05:33 PM
S
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 2,691
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
For some phone wiring help and diagrams - take a look here.

Good luck!
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: