How would cat 5 help me ?

Old 01-17-04, 06:39 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
How would cat 5 help me ?

Pardon my lack of knowledge in this department.

I was intending to run underground conduit from my home to a work shop located about 150' in my back yard to supply cable and a phone line. I want to set a tv, computer, intercom and phone line.

My thought process was to supply the phone w/ the phone line and branch off the coaxial to my computer. I'm assuming that branching off the coaxial to the computer would work but as I said before, I'm no expert.

Can someone explain or point me to a link that can explain how all this devices would be connected by using cat 5 cable.

Is there additional equipment needed to perform this work ?

Is 1/2" pvc big enough to run this cable underground?

Thanks in advance.

Old 01-17-04, 07:22 AM
Are you going to be networking with computers in the house? I'd run 1 cat5 for computers , 1 cat5 for phone and intercom, and a shielded coax for the TV. If you aren't networking you only need the one cat5 for the phone/intercom....and the coax. You get internet connection from either cable or phone.

1/2' pvc is plenty big, but for the price and perhaps future needs I'd probably use 3/4. You just have a lot more room to pull with 3/4" too.

If you pull the wire through as you build the sections of pipe you won't need a fish tape. A crimper to make up the ends of the coax and one for the twisted pair lines is all the specialized equipment you need.

Old 01-17-04, 09:21 AM
S
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
My thought process was to supply the phone w/ the phone line and branch off the coaxial to my computer. I'm assuming that branching off the coaxial to the computer would work but as I said before, I'm no expert.
What are you wanting to do with the computer? TV or internet/network? If you want TV input, then sure, just split the coax for the TV and computer.