CATV Patch Panel


  #1  
Old 04-12-04, 08:37 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: CT
Posts: 206
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
CATV Patch Panel

I am going to be running some combo cable for a 4 rooms in one of my homes.

The combo cable will be 2 rg6 and 2 cat5e cables.

I am an IT guy so rack mounting everything is what I always like doing.

I have CAT5 patch panels, but I am wondering if the same exists for CATV.

Just sometype of 19" rack mount plate with F- connectors.

Also is there a major signal loss introduced by using one of these?
I have looked various places on the net but can't find what I am looking for.

Thanks
Rem
 
  #2  
Old 04-12-04, 09:31 PM
S
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 2,691
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You don't want to use a patch panel for CATV - use a distribution module. Patch panels are used for data and phones, but for different reasons. CATV has incoming lines that is then distributed to the various rooms. A 2x6 distribution should suffice, and will be fairly inexpesive.

Good luck!
 
  #3  
Old 04-13-04, 06:41 AM
winkleal
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
This may be a product you might be interested in. It uses modules that you can mix and match but it is used for 19" racks. Many manufacturers offer similar products, but you may have to special order them.

http://www.siemon.com/e-catalog/prod...tch_Panels.asp


Tony
 
  #4  
Old 04-13-04, 09:01 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: CT
Posts: 206
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Can anyone tell me where I can find these reasonably priced?

* Invalid Link *

Or the keystone type.
 

Last edited by SafeWatch; 06-06-04 at 10:42 AM. Reason: Invalid link
  #5  
Old 04-13-04, 09:30 AM
S
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 2,691
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Leviton makes them in the keystone, modular type plates.
Channel Visions makes the fixed type (like in your link.) The fixed type are not cheap.

The keystones are not exactly cheap either - Cat5 is about $3+ if you can find a good deal. Coax you should be able to get under $3.

I would try the Depot, maybe Lowes. Several places online.

Good luck!
 
  #6  
Old 04-16-04, 02:50 AM
SkyKing
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
CATV is given to many, many different types of transmission lines.

If you mean coaxial cable or RG6 (59, 7, 11, etc..) then you need spiltters. If you over do the cabling, then you'll need an amp. It's better to let the cable company come and put the ends on the cable because most DIY's have absolutely no clue how to terminate properly. But, if you do, more power to you.


(was once a cable guy)

Have fun!
 
  #7  
Old 04-16-04, 07:21 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: CT
Posts: 206
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I do mean RG6. I am going to be using Quad Shield RG6 and I am familiar with crimping on the ends correctly. I have done hundreds of them!

I cannot use splitters b/c it will be for Satellite TV. There will be a multiswitch involved but again I want it all to terminate in the same central location.
 
  #8  
Old 04-30-04, 02:05 PM
wwmcdow
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
I'm want to do the same thing in my home -- also an IT guy.

I found several products on the following:

L-Com Connectivity Products
R & R Data
Lashen

If you find others, please advise.

Also, have you found any sources with photos showing layout and detailing examples?

Walker
 
  #9  
Old 06-04-04, 10:37 PM
Razor X
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Originally Posted by rmelo99
Can anyone tell me where I can find these reasonably priced?

http://www.smarthome.com/8547.html

Or the keystone type.
eBay

I'm setting up a new home that was pre-wired, and Iíve gotten all of my tools / wire / plates / jacks / patch panel / etc from eBay. So far I have not found a downside.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: