Wiring cat3 phone line?

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-22-04, 10:54 AM
WorldBuilder's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,471
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wiring cat3 phone line?

Hi all,

I know how to run and crimp CAT5e cable. I am running some phone wire (cat 3), though and don't know the color codes or how to crimp them down. Could someone show me a diagram on how to wire the FOUR pin cat 3, please? What I mean is: There's red, green, black, and yellow. I know (well, I think) that only the red and green are used. Where do they go? In the four pin end connector, what is the scheme?

I'm just putting rj-11 jacks on each end of the cable for now to test. How do I do it?

Thanks!

Chris

PS. I've googled all over the place, but for some strange reason I can find nothing...
 

Last edited by WorldBuilder; 07-22-04 at 12:14 PM.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-22-04, 02:00 PM
WorldBuilder's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,471
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok wait...

I have been misinformed, and am confused. I'm sure I sound like a dolt, but here goes.

Apparently phone cable and cat3 are NOT the same thing. Right?

Well, I bought cat3 cable and ran it throughout my house. Now, this cable right now has no ends of any kind, it's just cable lying around. I ran some of this cab;e through an unfinished ceiling. Now, before I put up the drywall ceiling, I want to test the cable to make sure it all will work and isn't damaged. Makes sense, right?

Ok. I THOUGHT that phone cable and cat3 was one and the same. As stated above, it's not.

Apparently phone cable has 4 wires: red, green, black, and yellow.

Apparently, cat3 also has 4: blue, white/blue, orange, and white/orange.

Now what I want to do is just put male connector ends on the cables for now to test. So, I bought some of these male connector ends. They are 6 position, not four.

I called General Cable from Home Depot and the guy said that the wiring scheme is as follows:

pin1 - empty
pin2 - WO
pin3 - B
pin4 - WB
pin5 - O
pin6 - empty

Is that right?

Chris
 
  #3  
Old 07-22-04, 04:09 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,169
Received 27 Votes on 26 Posts
Are you putting male connectors at each end, and not a female jack at the use end?

I mean, it will work in the sequence you have laid out. I'm just curious about the male ends on the drops.

For most installers on the solid/stripe color twisted pair wires, they use the light color for ring (red) and the solid for tip (green). You will find individuals that reverse that, but that's as close to a standard as you get.
 
  #4  
Old 07-22-04, 05:29 PM
WorldBuilder's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,471
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Eventually one end will be a female jack, yes. The other end goes to the NID, right?

BUT, for right now only, I am simply crimping on male connectors on both ends just to test the cable. What is the wiring scheme?

Chris
 
  #5  
Old 07-22-04, 05:41 PM
WorldBuilder's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,471
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Finally found what I was looking for. I think this is what I want:

http://www.ablecomm.info/wiring.htm

Chris
 
  #6  
Old 07-23-04, 03:16 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,169
Received 27 Votes on 26 Posts
That site will steer you well. That translation from newstyle UTP wire to the old 4 color system trips up people who work with this stuff on a daily basis.
 
  #7  
Old 07-23-04, 05:21 PM
WorldBuilder's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,471
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I made and tested the wiring today using the color scheme from that site. It all tests fine. I've also heard that consistency is key in this wiring. Just make sure that (when wiring the NID) everything is consistent and is hooked up to what it should be hooked up to. Makes sense to me.

Chris
 
  #8  
Old 07-30-04, 08:36 AM
WorldBuilder's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,471
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok, so is it as simple as this?

One end of the cat3 cable is punched down at the jack in the wall. The other end gets punched down in the NID. Is it that simple?

Chris
 
  #9  
Old 07-30-04, 08:51 AM
mango man's Avatar
Member
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Sw FL
Posts: 2,122
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
thats all there is to it
 
  #10  
Old 07-30-04, 07:17 PM
WorldBuilder's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,471
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I haven't really even looked INSIDE the NID yet, but usually how many connections can you make in there? I figure I'm going to have 5 jacks total. One line. Will there be enough in there, do you think?

Chris
 
  #11  
Old 07-31-04, 06:36 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 2,691
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Depending on the type of NID you have, you should have no problems. Most have screw terminals to wrap the wires around. But, lately they have started using a different type that has a snap-down connector. If that's the kind you have, then you'll only have 3 or 4 connection points - you may have to just jumper some wires or something. There are several options. Just make sure all the wires are connected on your side of the test jack and you'll be fine.

Good luck!
 
  #12  
Old 07-31-04, 07:55 PM
WorldBuilder's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,471
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'll let you know how it turns out and ask more questions if I have 'em.

Chris

PS. Just thought of one... Am I allowed to move the NID from where it is currently attached (on the side of the house) and move it into my basement, or does someone qualified (ie, the phone company) have to do it?
 
  #13  
Old 08-01-04, 06:51 AM
mango man's Avatar
Member
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Sw FL
Posts: 2,122
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
NID is phone company property you need to have them move it .

that said if you do it properley no one is likley to ever say anything or evan notice for that matter .
 
  #14  
Old 08-01-04, 05:28 PM
WorldBuilder's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,471
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok, one more question.

Is there any reason to NOT have it on the side of the house? Is it ok there? If it is (and I'm just making a big deal out of nothing), lemme know and I'll leave it right where it is.

Chris
 
  #15  
Old 08-01-04, 08:01 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 2,691
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If you're worried about someone tampering with it - don't worry. If they want to mess with your phone lines, there are plenty of places between your house and the CO to do so. If that's your only reason for moving it, just leave it.
 
  #16  
Old 08-01-04, 08:26 PM
mango man's Avatar
Member
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Sw FL
Posts: 2,122
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
if your worried about somebody gaining access you could also build a enclosure around it evan put a lock on it or use tamper proof screws

the telco dosen't need access to it if they want to disconect you they do that at the CO
 
  #17  
Old 08-02-04, 07:41 AM
WorldBuilder's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,471
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Tampering and weather are the only reasons I wanna move it. Ok, so tampering is no worry. Weather? Leaning towards leaving it...

Chris
 
  #18  
Old 08-02-04, 10:44 AM
mango man's Avatar
Member
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Sw FL
Posts: 2,122
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
they are made, tested and rated for outdoor use

do you think the telephone company want's to come out and service these things on a regular basis ?
 
  #19  
Old 08-02-04, 07:24 PM
WorldBuilder's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,471
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
In that case, it's gonna stay put. Thanks, fellas.

Chris
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: