RG6 vs CAT5e


  #1  
Old 08-24-04, 10:29 AM
HaveAHankerin
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
RG6 vs CAT5e

When choosing the location of my cable modem should I minimize the length of coax or the lengths of CAT5e in order to achieve best performance?

I currently have a ~90ft run from my cable junction box to my cable modem and then a 1ft CAT5e cable that connects to my router (which then distributes through CAT5e to the various locations in the house.

Should I relocate the cable modem so that I only have ~10ft of coax to the modem and then ~80ft CAT5e to the router, or will it not really make a difference?
 
  #2  
Old 08-24-04, 01:09 PM
mango man's Avatar
Member
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Sw FL
Posts: 2,122
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
the standard for ethernet is 100 meters (328' ) which includes the patch panel so assuming everything is done to standard the 80' (24.4 meter ) in just fine

catv is not my strong point but as long as your coax is done correctly proper connections and good crimps I dont think the distance there would be a factor

so I would mount the equipment wherever it is most convient
 
  #3  
Old 08-24-04, 07:47 PM
C
Member
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Taylors, SC
Posts: 9,483
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Have your cable company check the signal on the run of coax you choose for the cable modem so that it is at the proper level. It takes more of a signal for your computer than it does for the television.

The lengths of the runs are not important, as was stated. 100 meters total for any run of cat5. At least that for RG6. So you should be covered.
 
  #4  
Old 08-25-04, 07:26 AM
S
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 2,691
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I think the question was more along the lines of which is better, not what is standard or what is acceptable. Acceptable is one thing, optimal is a totally different question.

To answer your question - Cat5 has a higher rating than RG-6 for speed. So, technically, you would want the RG-6 to be the shortest run. However, are you going to notice a difference? Highly unlikely. At that kind of distance, the difference in performance will be so minimal, it's probably not worth unplugging the modem to move it. I would be more concerned with asthetics and convenience than performance in this situation - IOW, do whatever suits you best.

Good luck!
 
  #5  
Old 08-25-04, 09:54 AM
mango man's Avatar
Member
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Sw FL
Posts: 2,122
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
To answer your question - Cat5 has a higher rating than RG-6 for speed. So, technically, you would want the RG-6 to be the shortest run.



data runs on RG-6 to and from the cable modem regardless of where the cable modem is placed

keep in mind data is traveling to and from your modem on RG 6 at distances far in excess of 90'

nothing at all to do with speed diffrence of cat5 vs rg6 two diffrent applications

Bottom line is if cabeling is correct it really dosnt matter I think we all agree on that
 
  #6  
Old 08-25-04, 01:24 PM
HaveAHankerin
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thank you all for the input... I'm one of the fortunate ones that has easy and vast access to my attic and can run whatever, wherever I need or want. Trying to decide whether I should shorten the coax and lengthen the CAT5 for me is an issue of overall "house" performance (for both cable TV and HS Internet) so I just thought I'd throw the question out there.

Cheers
 
  #7  
Old 08-27-04, 05:21 AM
sjr
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
I think the decision on use of RG-6 or Cat5e for the longer run has less to do with speed than with signal quality.

I would connect the cable modem to the RG-6 as close as possible to the point of entry, especially if you will be splitting the incoming cable signal among different rooms. While the signal loss from a 50' RG-6 run won't matter much for the video, small losses in signal strength and S/N ratio can mean the difference between a very reliable internet connection and one that will occasionally lose the connection. (I moved my cable modem from my office to the point of entry and have greatly reduced those occasions when the cable modem loses its connection).

Cat5e on the other hand is very reliable up to its 100m (327ft) limit, as long as it is terminated properly.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: