Lingo Voip Service


  #1  
Old 09-06-04, 07:33 AM
poorbastad
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Lingo Voip Service

I've tried the lingo Voip service with good results. The only problem is one of centrally distributing the service throughout the house. I have a structured wiring panel with security system interface. This requires punch down connections. I clipped the end off of a line coming out of the Voip adapter and punched it down in place of ma-bells main line coming into the house. The problem is the dial tone doesn't make it through the panel to the rest of the house. I measure the voltage of ma-bells signal. Its about 50 V DC. The signal coming from the voip adapter is only in the 10's of millivolt range. Connecting a phone directly to this signal works OK, but I'm guessing its not strong enough of a signal to distribute through the panel. I really don't know and was wondering if anyone here has solved this particular dillema. I thinking of going to get a signal amplifier to see if that helps.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks!
 
  #2  
Old 09-07-04, 05:53 PM
poorbastad
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
To answer my own question

and perhaps spure some dialogue...I tried bypassing the RJ-31X security relay and voila - voip at all telephones in the house! That means that the meager voltage coming out of the voip adapter is strong enough to distribute through the system. The next question is how much voltage is required to run the RJ-31X security relay? I think I need to amp it up only enough to engage the relay and with that hurdle passed, the security system and all telephones should be talking on Lingo.

Stay tuned....
 
  #3  
Old 09-07-04, 06:33 PM
S
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 2,691
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The RJ31 is not a relay, it's a simple jack that connects and disconnects the phone lines from the security system. When the data cable is plugged in, the system is connected to the lines. When the data cable is unplugged, the RJ31 automatically kicks the lines back to the house - bypassing the security system (take a look inside the jack and you will see the bridge clips inside - or, take a look at http://phonewiring.safewatchservice.com to see them.)

Now, that being said, the problem is not the power from the lines, or the RJ31, but rather the security system. Security systems are not made to work on digital lines, so the lines are not being passed through the security system. You can try putting an Excelsus DSL filter on the line (I've heard this works, but I cannot confirm it) to see if that will allow the phones to work, but I seriously doubt it.

The other option is to connect the security system to one of the extensions in the house (just like a phone line) off of the 110 punch. You would lose line seizure, but it's not going to work anyway. You will probably still need the Excelsus filter for this to work.

Good luck!
 
  #4  
Old 09-08-04, 05:57 PM
poorbastad
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanks Brandon

So the signal comming out of the adapter is digital? - that makes sense to me now and so a signal amplifier isn't going to work. I called the panel maker today and they confirmed that it will not work. Thats too bad because it destroys the value proposition for going voip if you have to keep ma-bells line to allow the security panel to communicate.

Please let me know if you hear of any security panel makers that have a digital box.


Thanks
 
  #5  
Old 09-12-04, 11:02 AM
S
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 2,691
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Out of curiosity, what kind of system do you have installed? If it's an older system, you may be in luck. Some of the newer systems on the market have been proven to work with DSL - but, with DSL, you still have an analog phone line, it just has digital running along-side.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: