Need to rewire 75' of phone line...

Old 09-28-04, 08:55 PM
CyberSEAL
Visiting Guest
Need to rewire 75' of phone line...

Hi, this is my first time here, I appreciate your time and effort in answering my questions. I live in Northern Virginia, in a condominium that was built in 1987. I have two phone lines coming into my house via a single phone cable that contains 4 wires; red, green, black and yellow.

The red and green lines power my single residential line, the black and yellow power a second line I started using for business over a year ago. About 5 months ago the second phone line suddenly stopped working. After a fiasco with my local phone service provider (Verizon) and my condo board I am left alone to resolve this problem.

I have done a lot of research on the Internet about phone wiring and pretty much understand how my home is setup. I have determined the "master" phone outlet in my home (kitchen) which the cable from the network interface runs in to, from there it's my understanding that wire runs from outlet to outlet to provide connections.

When I test the black and yellow wires I've found that the yellow one is not carrying any voltage from the network interface box to my main outlet. The network interface box is located on the opposite end of my building, about 75' away. The wires run through the ceilings of 3 other condos to get to my unit, these attic areas are accessible via a couple of common ground hatches in the hallways between our units.

As far as I can tell the wire runs through conduit for most of the trip from the interface box to my master outles. Can someone give me an idea of how difficult it's going to be for me to rewire this myself? Also was wondering if there are any online resources for tips on running such a long link of phone wire through attics that are shared in a apartment or condo setting such as mine.