NID ground.

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-10-05, 01:18 PM
Exodus
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
NID ground.

I'm looking into moving the NID for our phone but in order to do it I have find a ground. What are my options? If I use a grounding rod how deep does it have to go? Where can I get one? Or can I just ground to the cold water going into my hot water heater?

Currently our NID is at the front house and I used the phone company wire to get the service back to my house.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-10-05, 06:37 PM
mango man's Avatar
Member
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Sw FL
Posts: 2,122
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
the nid is a Demark ..ie: the demarcation from regulated service that only telco personell can work on to deregulated service that anyone can work on

the NID/Demark is telco property , and is regulated , you can't move it legally must be done by the telco.

bonding and grounding must be done to telco specs .

not a DIY project , you need to contact the telco and request they do it
 
  #3  
Old 02-10-05, 07:09 PM
Exodus
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Can I buy my own NID?
If so what are the specs for bonding and grounding.
 
  #4  
Old 02-10-05, 07:22 PM
sean57
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Per Mangoman, the NID is telco property, it is not an item you can buy. You will regretably have to contact your tel provider to request it be moved. It is there to protect your household and its low-voltage communication wire from potential power surges. If it is in close proximity to the hydro meter, it simply may not be practical to move.
 
  #5  
Old 02-13-05, 01:33 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No, you cannot ground the telephone line yourself.
 
  #6  
Old 05-09-05, 12:24 PM
Exodus
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
OK,
So I can't ground it myself, what is an acceptable ground so I know I have one before I call the Telco.
 
  #7  
Old 05-12-05, 12:20 PM
frhrwa's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Deer Park WA
Posts: 521
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
when you call your local telco to come move the NID for you, they will install the ground rod, bond it, and test it all for you..
 
  #8  
Old 05-12-05, 03:40 PM
Exodus
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
When the tech came out last he said I have to do the ground rod. I ask him how deep it had to be he said like three feet. Sounded like he didn't know what he was talking about unless phone lines require a differrent ground than electrical. I can't find anything on a suitable phone line ground. A typical grounding rod is driven 8 feet into the ground right but water lines don't go down that far so what's the differrence.
 
  #9  
Old 05-13-05, 01:59 PM
frhrwa's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Deer Park WA
Posts: 521
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
the reason we never used water grounds for one, most of them these days have plastic unions.. we don't use electric company grounds because of their lack of attention to their neutral leads.. we will "lay" an 8' ground rod in the ditch when it is open.. or just drive it till you have about a foot above ground level.. but very important:... don't hit the water pipe or the electrical feed lines..
 
  #10  
Old 05-19-05, 07:13 AM
Exodus
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanks frhrwa
I was able to find a rod at Lowes my new favorite supplier.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: