Leviton 'middle of run' phone jack

Old 02-11-05, 12:38 PM
Jooced
Visiting Guest
Leviton 'middle of run' phone jack

Hi all,

I recently picked up the modular Leviton phone jacks to go along with the data and video jacks. I am unable to run a new line for the phone from the NID so I was wondering if there's a common method to wiring these modular jacks in the middle of the run. I have two jacks right next to each other as we're finishing the basement. I have one run, need the two jacks.

I'm a network engineer so I'm EXTREMELY familiar with color codes and punching down wires, but obviously phone vs. Cat5 is a big difference.

Has anyone done this before? I have been unable to search for any info. Thanks

Old 02-11-05, 01:43 PM
C
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
What type of cable are we talking about here? Cat5 (or 3), or the old four wire phone cable?

Do you punch the cable down in these jacks? If not, how do they connect?

Old 02-11-05, 01:44 PM
Jooced
Visiting Guest
Cat 3 actually, sorry for forgetting that info! And yes, the Leviton modular jacks are color coded punch downs. If I was only going to one jack it would be easy of course. Putting two on the same run complicates things.

Old 02-11-05, 02:33 PM
C
I suppose if you were really careful cutting the outer insulation off of about 2" of the CAT3 at the spot you need that middle of the run jack, and you were to swap the 110 blade of your punchdown tool to the non-cutting side, you could punch the wires down to the jack in the middle of that 2" area and let the wires pass right on through, much like terminating a phone extension to two different jacks on a 110 block.

How's that?

Old 02-11-05, 02:36 PM
Jooced
Visiting Guest