blockages in walls

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-05-05, 10:59 PM
Diceman19
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Angry blockages in walls

i am trying to run some ethernet through the rooms, i have cut all my holes, but it seems that at the same spot in every single room, i am getting stopped before i hit the top of the ceiling. i know i will have to drill up there, the idiots that built the house 30 years ago put drywall across the ceiling, ran wiring, then drywalled the walls. they didnt cut out in between the walls. maybe this is normal, i am just not used to that. i have never run wiring in a residential building before either, mostly commercial. either way, what is the best, cleanest, and most efficient way to fix this issue. i have cleaned everything and started painting the rooms and am supposed to have carpet installed on may 10th. i would like to make as little mess as possible and try not to ruin the paint that i have already put in. ripping into the walls seems to be my only solution that i can see, but that is definetly last resort if you guys come up with anything. (would have to re-plaster, re-sand, make big mess, re-clean, re-paint areas, then probly wont make deadline)any suggestions?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-06-05, 08:25 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Long drill bits, with extensions if necessary.
 
  #3  
Old 05-06-05, 10:06 AM
Diceman19
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
thats what i was thinking too, this is gonna suck really badly.
 
  #4  
Old 05-06-05, 12:22 PM
M
Member
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Carol Stream, IL
Posts: 338
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'm thinking it would be easier to come down with a long bit. Unless you in the basement or on a slab it also might work to go down and find a air or plumbing chase to follow to get back up. One other option is to go down behind the baseboard and run it along the wall. There is suppose to be a 1/4" gap between the floor and the drywall. This might allow you to get to a spot where you can get the wires to go up. Remember with Ethernet you can go 300 yds between active devices. So round about routes are OK.
 
  #5  
Old 05-06-05, 12:36 PM
Diceman19
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
i got some flexible drill bits that are designed to do this kind of stuff. we will see how well they work. it should be just one hole and then a small hole in the attic for each one and the wires should go through, i didnt see anything else in the way with my stud finder.
 
  #6  
Old 05-11-05, 12:53 AM
gtm20's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 75
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi Diceman - What's the cabling for ? voice ? PC/Data ? both ?

Is it possible to just go wireless and save your walls. But I guess at this point you already have the holes though.

If it's for PC/data, wireless routers are pretty cheap and realiable these days.
 
  #7  
Old 05-11-05, 01:40 AM
gtm20's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 75
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I just saw your other post about the patch panel and dsl filter. So I guess your well beyond the wireless option at this point.
 
  #8  
Old 05-13-05, 10:42 AM
Diceman19
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
definetely beyond the wireless option but dont think it hasnt crossed my mind to use some linksys jobs with hacked firmware. i WANT the wiring in the house though. i dont like wireless all that much, just a personal preference. i will probly have wireless for anything else that i dont wire up, but i cant see a NEED for it at the current. the drilling is tentatively(sp) scheduled for tomorrow night. attic is WAY to hot and i need someone to help me out. lets hope it goes well. i have already drilled through the back side of a wall in the laundry room by accident.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: