Adding a second phone jack

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-15-05, 07:31 PM
gramos
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Adding a second phone jack

I have three wires coming in from the telephone company's box outside that go to three rooms in my house. All three are on the same phone number. I want to add a new jack to another room with the same phone number.

I bought a wire that has 4 colored wires inside (red, green, black, yellow). I hooked the new wire to the back of an existing jack that has the same colors. This existing jack now has the red, green, black, and yellow wires from the line coming in from the outside and from my new wire. I then took the new wire and hooked up all four colors to back of a new jack.

The phone does not work on my new jack, but still works on the existing jack.

What did I do wrong?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-16-05, 04:50 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central New York State
Posts: 13,973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sounds like you failed to make the connection completely. Recheck your connections.
 
  #3  
Old 05-16-05, 07:04 AM
gramos
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
I took it all apart and re-attached the wires again and still do not receive a dial tone on the new jack. If I have all the colors correct, is there anything else it could be?
 
  #4  
Old 05-16-05, 07:24 AM
C
Member
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 973
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Most likely, the red and green wires are what your phones use. You need to be sure that they are connected to the two center prongs of your new jack. It's possible that the new jack is oriented differently than the old. If you unhook the new jack, maybe you can take an ohm meter and verify which terminals on the back go to the center prongs. Then connect red & green to those.
 
  #5  
Old 05-17-05, 04:44 PM
frhrwa's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Deer Park WA
Posts: 521
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
hate to see you use that junk I/W (r-g-bk-y), but since you have it, connect the Green wire to the green of the jack, the Red to the Red of the jack.. that's where the dial tone should be!.. if the jack is working where you are connecting "from"... you don't have to bother with the bk/y wires, they shouldn't be connected or used since there is only one line.. if your planning on using this for a modem or data, get rid of this I/W and get yourself some CAT5 I/W and run all the way to the NID on the outside of the house.. use the wb/bw pair and connect to the G/R of the jack..
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: